Today I helped a mynah bird.

As I was backing out of the driveway on my way to meet my friend, Peter, I saw a flash of brown and white and black. The quick movement and colors told me that a mynah bird had been hit by a car. I saw it flap it’s wings, but could see that it was injured. There was another mynah bird nearby watching.

Oh, no! I have to do something. If it’s badly injured, it needs to be relieved of pain. But my friend would be waiting for me and he just did me a huge favor. He printed the large image I needed for my Thanksgiving show and did it quickly so that I could leave with it on Thursday.

I ran into the house to get something to contain the little guy. A pillow case would work. I grabbed the pillowcase and ran toward the spot where I last saw the bird. Obviously I approached too quickly scaring him. He flew across the street. I think his legs were injured. He was unable to fly well and I saw him land on the top of our neighbor’s wall and then fall. I thought he fell into an enclosed courtyard that was locked – I couldn’t see him. As I started to walk away, I noticed two pigeons hanging out. It was as of they were letting me know where he was. I approached slowly this time and noticed a few white spots that were the underside of his wing. He was under a little bush. I inverted the pillowcase and used it like a glove, gently putting my hands around his small warm body. The pillowcase slipped over him easily and I cradled him in my hand and walked back to my car. Where should I take him? If I took him to the vet clinic known to treat birds, it would make me really late to meet Peter. VCA? I always think of them as being so cold and corporate. They often treat customers like nameless numbers. But they were less than five minutes away. I’d try them first. The girl that I spoke to was kind and understood what I needed immediately. She took the bird from me and said she would have someone look at his injuries to see if he could be saved. Otherwise they would euthanize him.

I know that the wild creatures have to fend for themselves without our intervention. But I’ve been feeling that our intervention is needed when our species is doing so much to make their world toxic. A car driven by a human caused this. I just wanted to lessen the damage whether it meant relieving the bird of his pain or fixing him.

After meeting with Peter, I called VCA. Not only had the bird survived, but it was on the mend. One of the techs at the clinic would foster him until he could be set free. I don’t know if the little guy might have somehow survived without my intervention, but I’m glad it turned out this way.

82° Partly Cloudy
45-628 Anoi Rd, Kaneohe, HI, United States

Sent from my iPad

4 comments
  1. mary charles said:

    You are the best! I did something similar with a baby bird a few months ago. As you state, we have created a world where animals have a tough time surviving…a little help is often needed and necessary for their survival!
    Enjoy the Big Island!

    MC

  2. Bobby said:

    I respect your humanity but offer this, only because I enjoy so much being the yang to your ying….

    The IUCN declared this myna as one of the only three birds among the world’s 100 worst invasive species.[4] (Other two invasive birds being Red-vented bulbul and European Starling) It has been introduced widely elsewhere, including adjacent areas in Southeast Asia, Madagascar,[28] the Middle East, South Africa, Israel, North America, Europe, Australia, New Zealand and various oceanic islands, including a very prominent population in Hawaii.[9]

    The Common Myna is a pest in South Africa, North America, the Middle East, Australia, New Zealand and many Pacific islands. It is particularly problematic in Australia. Several methods have been tried to control the bird’s numbers and protect native species.

    Wishing you and Kris a great Holiday. Chelsey is bringing friends home for Thanksgiving so I may not stay in Hilo and therefore may not see you. You might be thinking thank goodness. :) Hope you have a great show.

    • hiphotog said:

      Thanks for your two cents, Robert. If you read the post, I wasn’t trying to save the bird…I was trying to see that it wasn’t going to suffer and die a slow death from injuries from the car. And anyway, let’s face it…the mynah are here to stay.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 938 other followers

