International Dark Sky Association

Whenever I get back to Oahu, I become aware of the amount of light pollution there is here.  Standing on a hill overlooking Molokini, the stars in the sky are bright and visible.  The view of the sky from Waikoloa Village on the Big Island is amazing.

I’m saddened by the fact that kids that live here and in most cities won’t grow up with stars to gaze at.  When I was a (geeky) kid, I read astronomy books and I was fascinated by the worlds that could exist out there.

There is the International Dark Sky Association that is working toward "stopping the adverse environmental impact on dark skies by building awareness of the problem of light pollution and of the solutions, and to educate everyone about the value and effectiveness of quality nighttime lighting."

"Something about the night sky causes us all, young and old, to ponder over the very basic questions. We are inspired and motivated."   — Kalpana Chawla

1 comment
  1. Reading this Robin, it occurred to me how little I look up into my Waikoloa sky even tho I know how very right you are, and tonight I will make sure that I do.
    The other thing we take too much for granted here is that wonderful “green flash” you see at sunset, when the sun dips below the horizon and seems to go for a swim in our mesmerizing deep blue ocean, before calling it a day and letting the moon steal the stage for a while.
    When I pick Zach up from school, we sometimes get annoyed at the tourists who suddenloy swerve their cars to the side (or worse, crawl along and never pull over like they should) because that sunset is so spectacular.
    How lucky we are.
    Rosa

Leave a Reply

