Brown scarf

I made a scarf for my teacher.  He lives in Northern California off the grid so I imagine it gets mighty cold.  When we were in Volcano I ran out of yarn on the project I brought so I went to the yarn store in Hilo to start another project.  I’ll have to go back there to get the name of the yarn and color.  At that time, I had no idea I was going to blog about knitting.  Blogging serves as a personal record.  So here I can record the project with instructions.

Knitting is so relaxing for me…better than anything I’ve tried.  It keeps my hands busy and my mind relatively quiet.  I bought a book called Mindful Knitting and love how it parallels knitting with mindfulness.  It’s something I can practice while knitting.

Here’s the scarf:

Brownscarf

I used the twin rib stitch.  Since I’m just knitting rectangular things (like scarfs, blankets, and washcloths), I can use stitches from a basic book and just knit away. 

Cast on 36 (Must be a multiple of 6)

Row 1:  Knit 3, purl 3 Repeat to end

Row 2:  Knit 1, purl 1; Repeat to end

Repeat 1 and 2 for until desired length.

1 comment
  1. Susan B. said:

    Glad you’re blogging again. Your scarves are beautiful! My first socks (finished last spring) are grey to wear in the zendo on chilly days. But I’m not sure if they’ll be slippery. So far they’re my only socks, too. Have you tried Sugar and Cream, double stranded, for washcloths?

Leave a Reply

