Social Networking

While my mom and dog were ill I started spending time on Facebook. It started with Twitter and I found it was not satisfying…not interactive. Then I checked out LinkedIn. It's made for "professionals" and I've found it boring.

Then there is Facebook. I've become an addict. One of my peeps calls it Crackbook. It's fun, it's fast. You can communicate what you're doing to a lot of people all at once and they can respond in many ways if they choose to. I've added friends that I haven't seen in ages, friends that I see all the time, and people I work with. They're in China, Italy, Mexico, Georgia,  and next door. With some of the people I work with, Facebook, has put them in the cubicle next door. So that makes work fun.

I'm still using Twitter. It's great for news and information. I don't particular care about one-liners that tell you where people you follow are every moment. But thoughts from people I respect like John Maeda, president of the Rhode Island School of Design. I also follow the CEO of Zappos, whose company was named among one of the 100 Best Places to Work by Fortune Magazine. Last week he was twittering from Washington D.C. His twits often link to blog posts.

Here's an exerpt from his post on Twitter and how it has helped him grow personally. I thought the post was interesting.

"For me, it comes down to these 4 things:

  1. Transparency & Values: Twitter constantly reminds me of who I want to be, and what I want Zappos to stand for
  2. Reframing Reality: Twitter encourages me to search for ways to view reality in a funnier and/or more positive way
  3. Helping Others: Twitter makes me think about how to make a positive impact on other people's lives
  4. Gratitude: Twitter helps me notice and appreciate the little things in life"

The jury is out on LinkedIn. More of my clients are on it than I thought, but it's just not fun. Life is too short to spend time on something that's not fun.

Leave a Reply

