Hiking on Pu’u Ohia Trail

This morning Kris and I went to the Farmer's Market at Kapiolani Community College. It's insane and crowded, but I still love my favorite vendors. I always purchase way more than I mean to, but I always use it all. Beet greens, broccoli rabe, Maui onions, and leeks.

After shopping, we drove up to Tantalus for a short hike on Pu'u Ohia Trail. It's so nice to see native plants doing so well on Oahu where so many invasive ones have come to dominate. The delicate, white native hibiscus was in full bloom. I've never seen it quite like today. I didn't bring my camera so I was glad to have my trusty iPhone. Not the same, but at least I got a shot.

Native hibiscus
Hiking on Pu'u Ohia Trail
Leave a Reply

