Leek and potato gratin

I'm seriously thinking about making the big commitment to make it New Year's resolution to get back to my blog. I really like checking in. I've made it a point to keep my blog as positive as possible without the usual whining that occurs in my daily life.

One of the BIG things that gives me pleasure is food. I'm passionate about food…I'm a food crazy person. I live for food.

So I thought I'd share this recipe. Williams Sonoma catalog always contains great recipes to entice you to purchase the cookware to make them. I love that. I normally try to stay with a recipe that combines cream, cheese and butter, but it's the holidays and I made this on Christmas Eve.

Leek and potato Gratin (My version)

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

1 1/2 lbs. Yukon gold potatoes
Three leeks
One bunch scallions
8 oz. heavy cream
1/2 stick of butter
1 cup of sharp cheddar cheese – grated
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese – grated

Slice leeks in half lengthwise. Cut off the roots and dark green parts. Save the thick dark green part for soup stock later. Wash well. Chop the scallions and leeks into 1/4 inch pieces. 

Saute the leeks and white parts of the scallions in a tablespoon of butter. Add the cream and simmer to thicken. In a separate bowl combine the cheeses.
Slice the potatoes into 1/4 inch pieces.
Coat the pan with butter. 
Layer beginning with potatoes, then the leek/scallion/cream mixture, and last the cheese. I did two layers.

Bake the gratin for 40 minutes. Yummy! I promise!!!




Leave a Reply

