Cucumber namasu

My Mom’s cucumber namasu was a favorite food in our family. It had the best balance of sweet and sour…it was fresh and crunchy. I’ve tried to recreate it as I knew the ingredients that went into it. I could never get the proportions quite right. Kris loved Mom’s namasu and she often made it just for him so he was a good judge of how it should taste.

I decided to let Mom’s namasu be a memory and create a recipe of my own. I have one now that I’m happy with. Kris approves, too!

Here it is:

1 seedless Japanese cucumber
1 small carrot (I really like the yellow, but only orange was available)
1 t. kosher salt
1/4 c.  juice from a Meyer lemon
1 T. honey
1/8 c. rice vinegar (preferrably Mitsukan)

Slice the cucumber and carrot as thinly as possible.
The Japanese type of slicer creates too thin a slice so use a knife.
Toss the cucumber in the salt and let sit while making the dressing.
Combine the other ingredients and pour over the cucumber.
Add the carrots and mix well. Let the dish sit for an hour before eating.

3 comments
  1. Thanks for the recipe! I am going to make it this week after I return from my road trip. Namasu with a bento from Shirokiya would be so ono right now. Had a fish and chips lunch at Whitby, UK today…it’s not what my taste buds wanted!

    • hiphotog said:

      Hope you like it, Priscilla!
      Time for a visit from you & Tammy, David!

Leave a Reply

