Sushi Rice Hawaiian Style

Bara Sushi

I believe this was the first thing I ever made. At the time I was living in Portland, Oregon and it was my first time away from home. More than anything, I missed the food. One of my aunts told me that if I could read, I could cook and mom sent me a copy of the Honpa Hongwanji Cookbook. I’ve modified the su (vinegar mixture for the rice) and simplified the preparation of the veggies.

This is dish I make often – it’s portable and great to take to potlucks. For New Year’s lunch, I used matsutake mushrooms that I bought from a paper-making factor in Bhutan – strange place to find them!

6 cups rice
6 cups water

Su:
Sugar – 3/8 cup
Salt – 2 1/2 T.
Rice vinegar – 1 cup

Veggies:
Carrots – 2 medium
Beans – 15 beans (I like the Blue Lake beans)
Shiitake mushrooms – 8 (rehydrated)

Cook the rice. While the rice is cooking, make the su by combining the  ingredients in a saucepan. Heat until the sugar is completely dissolved and then bring to room temperature.

Cut the beans and carrots into small cubes. Parboil beans, carrots, and mushrooms in a small amount of water (about 3 T) with salt.

When rice is done, let stir the rice. Let is sit for about 20 minutes.
Then add the su mixture a little at a time until rice is flavored the way you like it. Taste it as you go.

Then add the veggies and mix gently. Garnish with furikake or ao nori.

Leave a comment