Crazy Chopped Salad

I’ve been making variations of this salad for a while. It’s simple and not. Kinda like life. I try not to make a big deal about it…using what is on hand in the fridge. It’s just a chopped salad. There are a few things that make it the salad I like.

A few days ago I made a version to share…just because I happened to take a photo.

Basically you chop the veggies you have in the fridge. I like to use cruciferous veggies – like cabbage and broccoli as a base. Here I used broccoli and red cabbage. Add some salt then so that it breaks them down a bit. Then add grated carrots, radishes. Finely chop some herbs. In this one I used dry land watercress and Italian parsley. Nuts or seeds are essential – doesn’t matter what kind – almonds, sunflower seeds, flax, pecans. Chop them up and add them to the salad.
Then add raisins or dried cranberries for a bit of sweetness. Squeeze a few lemons. Drizzle a bit of honey or agave…not too much. I like a bit of it to balance the flavors.
Mix it well and taste it…and look at it. If you like the way it tastes and the way it looks you’ve got yourself a great crazy chopped salad. Yimmy!

3 comments
  1. alala55 said:

    I wish I was your neighbor so you could teach me how to prepare food in this manner.

  2. pehall said:

    I plan on making this salad! I had something similiar recently: a grain salad that had quinoa, lentils, mongo beans, nuts and various chopped veggies –all tossed in a lemon mayonaise dressing. Thanks, Robin!

    • hiphotog said:

      Cool. A grain salad sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

