Stickeen by John Muir

I just finished reading this wonderful book by John Muir about an adventure with an amazing dog, Stickeen. In telling the story about a trek over an Alaskan glacier, he exhibits the passion he had for the beauty of the wilderness, purposely going out in a storm to witness the shaping of the earth by the untamed glaciers.

“He enlarged my life,” Muir wrote, “extended my boundaries.”

I always felt this way about my first dog, Latte. She brought the animal world into my life. Reading this made me miss her more than ever.

Leave a Reply

