Ka’ana Kitchen at the Andaz

I recently had dinner at an amazing restaurant in Maui. If you go there thinking you’re going to have something familiar that you’ve had before, forget. The menu is a great read with super inventive dishes. It was exciting to see such innovation…you could tell that the creators were passionate about the dishes. In addition to the interesting menu, the staff was welcoming and attentive. I thought they thought I was somebody. Ha!

IMG_4687

I was alone and was seated at the tasting table even though I wasn’t doing the tasting menu. The staff was great about explaining the menu and I loved reading it. It had an energy rarely seen…local ingredients, too. I just knew I was gonna love it. I had a great view of every dish coming out of the kitchen and each was beautifully plated.

IMG_4703

A slab of watermelon topped with goat cheese, nuts and micro greens was a perfectly refreshing way to begin.  Visually pleasing and, oh so light!

IMG_4704

The reason I chose dinner here was that there was grilled octopus on the menu…I love its wonderful flavor and texture when grilled. The salad did not disappoint. The pieces of octopus were tender and super yummy. The Secret Sicily goat cheese from Surfing Goat Dairy balanced the bitterness of the frisee and kale. There were bits of grilled bread with a touch of olive oil that added another layer of texture. Throughout was a lemony deliciousness.

IMG_4705

The abalone risotto topped with an onsen egg was delicious. The egg opened up to mix with the rice for a wonderful sauce. The abalone is farm-raised in Kona and there was a generous serving of its chewy goodness in this dish.
Ka’ana Kitchen so good that I brought Kris back the following night…for the same dishes. I guess I’ll have to go back to try more things. Can’t wait!

The location isn’t bad either. Here are two iPhone shots from the beach at the Andaz. It’s so beautiful there.

IMG_4680  IMG_4700

8 comments
  1. mike said:

    Wish I had been there to share! Amazing!

  2. Mary Goodrich said:

    Looks delicious! In Lahaina area? Love your iPhone beach shots too ­ great colors!

    From: Ramblings by Robin Scanlon Reply-To: Ramblings by Robin Scanlon Date: Thursday, April 9, 2015 10:38 PM To: Mary Goodrich Subject: [New post] Ka¹ana Kitchen at the Andaz

    WordPress.com hiphotog posted: “I recently had dinner at an amazing restaurant in Maui. If you go there thinking you’re going to have something familiar that you’ve had before, forget. The menu is a great read with super inventive dishes. It was exciting to see such innovation…you cou”

    • The Andaz is in Wailea. It was so delicious. Thank you, Mary!

  3. Bobby said:

    …but you ARE somebody!!

  4. Bobby said:

    You mention “local ingredients too”. Although not exactly the same as farm to table it is similar. I found it both interesting and amusing that David Chang, who you also like, on one of his show, “Mind Of A Chef” commented that the epitome of mediocrity is the farm to table movement.

    • I like local because it’s better…not shipped in. I don’t know about David Chang’s opinion on this and don’t really care. I like his hutzpah!

Leave a Reply

