Miniature lotus…lots of joy

A while ago, we went to an orchid show and I bought a miniature lotus. I’ve always wanted a lotus because of the symbolism used in Buddhism. The beautiful lotus grows in murky muddy water…a reminder of the possibilities. And the lotus is just stunning.

The miniature lotus grows in a water bowl about two feet in diameter and two feet deep. It needs full sun to bloom and a pretty long day. So this one bloomed just after the Spring Equinox. It blooms about a month after you notice a tiny bud coming up and only lasts a day. I go crazy with my iPhone when it’s blooming.

“No Mud, No Lotus.” Thich Nhat Hahn

Affinity_4710v2

This version is edited in a Beta version of Affinity on my laptop. I like the coolness of the image.

IMG_4710

This one was edited in Camera+, my favorite iPhone camera app. I use it to shoot almost everything. Painted in Waterlogue

This is the same image using Waterlogue on the iPhone for the watercolor painting effect. 

IMG_4717

This one is a view peering into the flower. The pod grows into a shower head. I’ll post a photo when it’s ready.

2 comments
  1. Keith Aragaki said:

    Beautiful pics!

    • Thanks, Keith. When can we go to lunch again?

Leave a Reply

